The Good or the Best

“Finally brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there be any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy-meditate on these things.” Phil. 4:8

The time was late. I wanted to watch a cute movie and spend time with my daughter. We snuggled in bed and went to Netflix to choose something nice.

We clicked…it downloaded.

She stopped and said, “I don’t know if we should do this.”

I answered, “I don’t know either.”

But we did.

It was an okay PG film. It had its usual one spot we fast forwarded. It was wonderful to spend time with my daughter.

But I woke up this morning wondering….

How are we to be “in the world and not of the world”. How do I train my children to choose wisely what they watch, what they spend their time doing, what they read!

I have honestly not come to any definite guidelines. But I have realized that to compromise in what is small, leads to compromise in what is big. We walk in the direction our feet our pointing.

In my own life, I have noticed the ease of heading down the slippery slope of going along with the small voice that says, “Go ahead, it isn’t a big deal”. Because of  that, I have found myself in situations I never thought I would, because I didn’t head the small voice on the little things.

“Very few of us would debate over what is filthy, evil, and wrong, but we do debate over what is good. It is the good that opposes the best.” Oswald Chambers

Choosing anything that will keep me away from what is BEST, Jesus and walking WITH Him, is choosing what I shouldn’t. Letting go of that which I feel is my “right”, what I feel is “okay”, and seeking God’s “right” is where He wants me and where there is freedom in Him.

Help me, Lord, abide in you. Give me the strength to choose what is BEST. Give me the wisdom to help my children choose You.

This entry was posted in Biblical and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

