Keeping my Eye on the Goal

Have you noticed how easy it is to focus on the difficulties of life?

This hit home today.

Once again.

I began focusing on the present uncertainties that are currently in my life.

Obstacles are those frightful things you see when you take your eyes off your goal. ~ Henry Ford

I am certain that Satan spends his time trying to find ways to keep our eyes on ANYTHING but our Goal – God.

Maybe it is the uncertainty of the future.

Perhaps it is something someone said.

The growing list of things to do.

Worries and anxieties over our children, health of our parents, bills, what’s for supper, what should I wear, fears, pain, hurts…..

These things are real.

Very much a part of our lives.

Then I read this –

A river is victoriously persistent, it overcomes all barriers….You can see God using some lives, but into your life an obstacle has come and you do not seem to be of any use. Keep paying attention to the Source, and God will either take you around the obstacle or remove it. The river of the Spirit of God overcomes all obstacles. Never get your eyes on the obstacle or on the difficulty…Never allow anything to come between yourself and Jesus Christ, no emotion, no experience; nothing must keep you from the One great Sovereign Source. ~ Oswald Chambers

What does this look like in my day to day life?

I am convinced if I had a sure-fire way to keep my eyes on my goal – God, things unseen, my relationship with Him – I could package it up and make millions! (if I were the entrepreneur type).

All I have are the ways of those that have gone before, who struggled with the same.

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made know to God; and the peace which surpasses all understanding, will guard your heart and minds through Christ Jesus. ~ Phil. 4:6,7

But what things were gain to me, these I have counted loss for Christ. But indeed I also count all things loss for the excellence of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and count them as rubbish, that I amy gain Christ. ~ Phil. 3:7,8

  • Prayer
  • Thanksgiving
  • Putting Christ above all the world has to offer

Knowing this and implementing are two different things. I should know…I fail all the time (just ask my family).

But when I have succeeded in keeping my eye on what really matters, the obstacles become irrelevant or really, I see them for what they are –

My brethren, count it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience. But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing. ~ James 1:2-4.

God’s way to reach my GOAL!

This entry was posted in Biblical, Learning of God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

