Cherishing the Moment…

Homework! Algebra! Taming of the Shrew! Essays!
Dare I say, what a blessing?

Most of the time I run through life, exasperated at the interruptions, when the interruptions are really what life is all about.

“Happiness, not in another place but this place…not for another hour but this hour.” ~ Walt Whitman

It isn’t getting to the next event, hurrying to answer the next call, running to catch the next show…it is being in the moment.

Enjoying the smile of my daughter, the hug of my son, the look of enlightenment after an arduous time in Algebra. It is laughing at a line in Shakespeare or grinning at my own mistakes, finding my children are becoming more knowledgeable than me!

“Life is a journey, not a destination.” ~ Ralph Waldo Emmerson

Jesus said it this way –

“Therefore I say to you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink; nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not your life more than food and the body more that clothing?”

So easy to get caught up in the worry, the stress and the rushing of life. We lose out….

“Be still and know that I am God;” ~ Psalms 46:10

In the stillness, in the quiet, in the stopping, in the being, in the moment, I can KNOW God.

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

