Death, where is your Sting?

We had talked, laughed, joked over the phone, just the evening before. He had, one more time, encouraged me to blog.

In fact, I had texted him that very afternoon, excited about a job opportunity I had for him.

As I relaxed, and perused Facebook that evening, I read a note from a mutual friend. I don’t recollect the exact wording, but I remember clearly the exact feeling I had when I read that this very same dear friend, the one I had just texted hours earlier, a friend for 30 years, had died that day.

He was too young! He couldn’t be gone! A bad joke, some mistake!!

I cried.

I trembled.

I was in shock.

How come? Why? It all, even now, seems so senseless!!

Death, the finality of it all.

During the days of writing this blog, I again received a call. This time I was driving. With the “Hello”  from a fellow church youth leader came, “Pray, one of our own is missing. Missing in the ocean.”  Later found…dead.

Again, DEATH.

This time a 17 year old. A young man full of life, love, smiles, potential.

Oh such pain, such suffering in this world.

You have been touched by it.

You have wept.

So I am processing, once more, what death means as a believer in Jesus Christ, who calls Himself the Resurrection and the Life! Take a look, check it out and study for yourself!!

I am thankful that God’s Word is not silent when it comes to what it will be like when we take our last breath, as we know we will.

I love to sleep. Every evening, I crawl into bed, rest my head on my soft pillow, close my eyes, and know that by the grace of God, I will wake up to a new morning.

Jesus calls death, SLEEP! Over 50 times in the Bible death is referred to as sleep. Rest. A state of not knowing anything…until that NEW morning when:

“The Lord Himself will descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of an archangel, and with the trumpet of God. And the dead in Christ will rise first. Then we who are alive and remain shall be caught up to gather with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. And thus we shall always be with the Lord.” 1 Thess. 4:16,17

God ALONE can give us the comfort we need even in the lowest, most painful, most difficult times!!

“For the living know that they shall die; but the dead know not anything…” Eccl. 9:5

There are many, many more verses that speak of death as sleep, as in a state of not knowing what is going on.

The thought that my loved one or friend is sleeping, resting, not worried, not hurting, not looking down in sadness and watching me cry, is comfort indeed.

BUT….THAT”S NOT ALL!! There is HOPE in the RESURRECTION!

“Behold, I tell you a mystery; We shall not all sleep, but we shall be changed – in a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the dead will be raised incorruptible, and we shall be changed.”        1 Cor. 15:51,52

New life!

When the Lord Himself returns for His own to take us to a place where:

“God will wipe away every tear from their eyes; there shall be no more death, nor sorrow, nor crying; and there shall be no more pain, for the former things have passed away.” Rev. 20:4

Every winter, nature slowly goes into a state of sleep. Branches wither, leaves fall, trees look bare and at times all is coated under a blanket of snow. But that is not the end!

SPRING is around the corner….

With Spring, there is LIFE!! New LIFE!!

Jesus, who created life the first time around, wakes us up to life eternal when He comes again!!

“Where, O death, is your victory? Where, O death, is your sting?”  1 Cor. 15:55

As it says in 1 Thessalonians 4:18-

“Therefore comfort one another with these words.”

This entry was posted in Biblical and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

